Posts by Ringen

    Thanks for sharing Toom!

    It doesn't fit my workflow but I find it interesting to look at the code...and my oh my there is a lot of that !

    I will probably aim for something simpler with my first LUA script :-)

    While on the subject I'd like to suggest a design change of the dialog box.

    (Might not be 100% correct but you get the picture)


    I believe it would be much easier to use if we break it down to two questions: (Two selection boxes)


    1. What do you want to copy from source cue?


    Select one of three:

    * Content

    * Status

    * Look



    2a. How do you want to store in destination? (Destination does not exist)


    Select one of three:

    * Store, keep tracked values = COPY

    * Store, terminate tracked values with default = COPY (Status)

    * Store, terminate tracked values with release = COPY (Status) Release checked



    2b. How do you want to store in destination? (Destination already exist)


    Select one of four:

    * Merge

    * Overwrite, keep tracked values = Overwrite (Content)

    * Overwrite, terminate tracked with Default = Overwrite (Status)

    * Overwrite, terminate tracked with Release = Overwrite (Status) Release checked


    And ONE big action button to execute!


    (+ Cue Only as a toggle when needed)


    It would be super easy to add options without new check boxes...

    OK, in my similar but slightly more complex test I did not notice the fixture that disappeared as I was not looking for that ...

    Maybe because I found my interpretation more useful :-)


    So another way to describe "Overwrite(Content)" is " Delete all stored values then store the 'source' " ?

    Just as a regular overwrite.. No need to confuse me with the (Content) ;-)

    I'm testing the news in v1.4 and copy a cue into an existing cue.


    I see no difference between 'MERGE' and 'Overwrite (Content)'

    The latter "Overwrites only the content (stored values) of the destination" claims the release notes, but it also overwrites tracked values.


    I was thinking it should work similar to the 'original content only' during update..?

    Good point, but I don't really trust the Oops key yet on a general basis.

    You could also risk to inadvertently change the patch without noticing when later trying to Oops something that was NOT oopsable...

    I'm thinking I could live with a popup.


    Is there a Un-Oops ?

    Or a list to show what Oops will do?

    When leaving LivePatch with "Discard" some fixtures make a short but very visible Zoom-change.


    The fixture I noticed this on was a GLP X4 in Hires mode.

    Particularly strange after "Discard" I think.


    Anyone else noticed this?

    Try to activate "Allow Duplicates" for that cue. It's a column you can set to YES.

    Without that an attribute can only exist in one of the parts.

    With YES it's like a sequence inside the cue EXCEPT all parts trig at the same time without delay.

    Thanks for explaining Andreas, I should have noticed the lack of attribute.


    I designed my fixture profile in the online GDTF builder and there is no option to NOT assign attributes that I can find.

    In MA editor I can change to EMPTY if I like .


    Not sure if I understand the implications of not having an attribute vs having one.

    Seems to me most profiles use individual attribute assignments.



    To MA: I still think I have a valid point for always using the 'Channel function name'.

    Yes showing the Channel set name would also be a big improvement!


    Looking at your custom profile it seems like you've got the Channel Function names showing..

    But could it be that you also have Attributes named Loops / Once and Effect? (At least as their pretty names?)

    I always got the 'Pretty name' by the encoder but the Channel Function names when opening the dialog.


    If you edit the Channel Function name in your profile will the names by the encoder change?

    I have a suggestion about the information shown in the Letterbox Encoder screen.


    When an Attribute have multiple Channel Functions they are shown to the left of the virtual encoder like here:



    The name used is the Attribute-Pretty name.

    As these Channel Functions often refer to the same sub attribute the same name is shown for different Channel Functions.

    This doesn't make much sense to me as we need to know what we select.


    What if you instead used the actual Channel Function Name?

    In addition to being quite logic (Using the Channel Function name for the Channel Function..)

    it is also very easy to change without messing with the Fixture profile too much.

    You could easily improve profiles to your liking.


    ( Please also make more room for these names so we can see more than 8 characters. Even less with OnPC it seems. )


    With this, filtering out the attributes not used by current selection and implementing the promised encoder customization I would be quite pleased :-)



    So - what did I miss?

    Why is this like it is today? Why is my suggestion a bad idea?