BECOME PART OF THE COMMUNITY - Sign up here
  • Hi!

I am a noob with using MA macros. I am looking for a way to create loops, is it possible?

What I want to achieve is to ask for 3 inputs from the user:

1, How many fixtures

2, Start fixture id

3, Start Sequence number

And then have the macro create a sequence with 2 cues for each fixture where it turns on and then off it after a specified amount of time. Anyone have any clue if it is possible?

(I am trying to work around that I can not create single shot phaser with a fixed width in seconds. I want to control the rate of one step but have the other fixed.)

• I'm not sure how to do it all in a macro, If I think really hard I'm sure you could do something with a recursive macro, but would probably lock the desk up in an infinite loop.

I'm sure someone will have an ingenious idea, but here is how you might do it in a lua single liner that you can use as a command in a macro to trigger.

lua"local ti, fc, st, sq;ti = TextInput;fc = ti('How Many Fixtures?');st = ti('Start ID?');sq = ti('Start Seq');for i=0, fc-1 do Cmd(string.format('Fixture %d at Full; Store Seq %d /NC', st+i, sq+i)) end"

It might look a little scary but here is the same code expanded with comments.

Code
    local ti = TextInput;                --Store the TextInput() function as ti (just to make it smaller)
    local fc = ti('How Many Fixtures?'); --Ask How many Fixtures
    local st = ti('Start ID?');          -- Ask Starting ID
    local sq = ti('Start Seq');          -- Ask Starting Sequence
    for i=0, fc-1 do                     -- loop based on the fixture count
      Cmd(string.format('Fixture %d at Full; Store Seq %d /NC', st+i, sq+i)) -- << YOUR COMMAND GOES HERE
    end

So if if you say 10 fixtures starting at FID 1 and SEQ 100 the Commands would be

Fixture 1 at Full

Store Seq 100 /NC

the second would be:

Fixture 2 at Full

Store Seq 101 /NC