Calibrate fixtures without affecting 3D?

BECOME PART OF THE COMMUNITY - Sign up here
  • Hi all,

I am quite new to MA3 .. using a onPC with a CommandWing.

is there a way to calibrate you fixtures like a dmx-offset or something?

The problem is that the fixtures in real-life are not adjusted to 100% in the rig. Some are facing a little downwards, some a little to the left, etc.. I would like to adjust these fixtures without affecting the 3D or to modify all my Presets...

I already looked up the online-help and read "Position Fixtures in the 3D space" ... but these methods are all affecting the positions in 3D ...

help appreciated... :)

• Yes, ok, but where should I use this? In all of the presets? I am looking for something to adjust my fixtures to a new location where the stage is e.g. smaller, higher etc... so that there is no need to modify all of my presets.....

I GM there was this offset value available, In GM3 there is a "calibrate position" (in 3d setup-mode), but if i do the calibration procedure with 4 points on my stage and press "solve", then it modifies the positions of my fixtures in the rigg... thats not really what I want...

Is there a kind of functionality planned in one of the next versions?

• Put the relative values into their own sequence with a single cue
    • Change the Sequence Settings for that Sequence:
      • Change {Priority} to "Lowest"
      • Change {Off when Overwritten} to be disabled (gray rather than yellow)
    • Run the sequence

Now it will just be always running in the background.

• Hi, I tried to do as suggested, but unfortunately not successful....

I created 2 presets for some moving lights (1 up, 1 down)

Then I used the „up preset“ and modified it with the relative position values. I stored this as a third preset (Here is my first problem, it looks like as if it sores both absolute and relative values - don‘t know how to store the relative values only)